The Park

Courances was believed for many years to have been by Le Nôtre. The Park is in fact a century older, and is first and foremost a Renaissance water garden.

The Park has evolved over the centuries, each owner leaving his mark on it. The classical French park of the 17th century, the 'French' style of the 19th century and Japonisme of the 1920’s, all coexist. Abandoned in 1830 by its then owner, restored by the Duchênes, it continues to change with the times and with new creations such as the woodland garden.

Labelled 'Jardin Remarquable', the Park is open to the public every weekend and public holiday from April 3rd to November 1st 2021, from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. Come and enjoy its magic in spring, summer or autumn...

Due to the current circumstances, the terms and conditions of our  opening will be available shortly.

Water at Courances

Courances, it is said, takes its name from the 'eaux courantes' or 'running waters' of the park: 14 natural springs which feed 17 pools, the oldest of which date back to the 16th century.

There are no mechanisms here, only an age-old science of levels which allows the water to flow through the famous 'gueulards' or dolphin heads with gaping mouths, which adorn some of the pools, and out into the River Ecole at the far end of the Park.

Courances is said to have held a favoured place at the court of Louis XIII and it was often said:   “Bois de Cély, Prés de Fleury, Eau de Courances, are three wonders in France…”. The king was known to insist on having his drinking water sent from the 'Fontaine du Roy' in Courances whenever he was staying in Fontainebleau.

Vue du château de Courances en hiver

Le Parc de Courances

Très longtemps présenté comme une œuvre de Le Nôtre, le Parc de Courances est en réalité plus ancien d’un siècle. Le parc est d’abord et avant tout un jardin d’eau de la Renaissance.

Le Parc de Courances n’a cessé d’être modifié au fil des siècles, chaque propriétaire souhaitant y imprimer sa marque. Le parc classique français du 17ème siècle, le style « à la française » du 19ème ou le japonisme cohabitent en un même lieu. Abandonné en 1830, puis restauré par les Duchêne, le Domaine de Courances connut bien des péripéties ! Le parc reste aujourd'hui en constante évolution.

Labellisé « Jardin Remarquable », le parc est ouvert au public tous les weekends et jours fériés du 3 avril au 1er novembre 2021 de 14h à 18h : venez profiter de ce lieu unique au printemps, en été, et à l’automne…

ATTENTION : FERMETURE EXCEPTIONNELLE DU DOMAINE LE SAMEDI 5 ET DIMANCHE 6 JUIN 2021

L'eau à Courances

Courances, dit-on, tient son nom des « eaux courantes » du parc qui compte une rivière (l’École), 14 sources et 17 pièces d’eau dont les plus anciennes remontent au 16ème et les plus récentes au siècle dernier.

Point de mécanismes dans le parc de Courances, mais une subtile science des niveaux qui permet l’écoulement des eaux par les fameux   gueulards , têtes de dauphin à bouche béante, ponctuant les bassins.

« Bois de Cély, Prés de Fleury, Eaux de Courances, sont trois merveilles en France… » disait-on à la cour de Louis XIII. Ce dernier faisait venir son eau de table de la « Fontaine du Roy », source du parc, lorsqu’il séjournait à Fontainebleau.

Vue du château de Courances en hiver